Quote Of The Day

From an interesting Politico article on people who left the Washington, DC area after having been at least somewhat successful there, comes this quote:


“I spent the better part of 10 years camped in the nation’s Capitol and, toward the end, I just felt like I was suffocating,” said Mark McKinnon, a political strategist who worked on George W. Bush’s presidential campaigns and who hightailed it out of town for Austin, Texas, and Blue River, Colo., a few years ago. “I felt like I was becoming part of the problem and had to get away.”

We should note, the exiles who spoke to POLITICO also had some nice things to say about D.C.

“I learned a lot, and met a lot of great people,” McKinnon said. “But, it’s a human microwave. And if you stay long, you’re going to fry a lot of brain cells and melt some of your humanity. It becomes a game and you become a player in the game.”

D.C. exiles: Leaving ‘This Town’


That’s the sort of nice thing people say about our nation’s capitol? Read the rest of the article and you’ll probably see why. A “human microwave” seems an apt description. I’ve wondered more than once how John Kerry could go from being the guy who asked how we can ask someone to be the last man who died for a mistake, and then voted to authorize the Iraq War. A turnabout like that makes me wonder if the man has any conscience left at all. He’s certainly not alone in that department in DC.

I’d suggest reading the whole article. While it’s not long on explanation, it does show what people say about the place once they’ve left it.

About Cujo359
An engineer, computer programmer, and former defense worker who also does amateur theatre. Contact: my nom de ordinateur at earthlink.net

Comments are closed.

