And Furthermore …

As a postscript of sorts to the explanation I wrote last week about why this is the new home of Slobber And Spittle, I thought I’d note that Google finally provided a place for me to tell them that yes, that really was me trying to break into my Blogger account.

The only problem, apart from that it’s more than a week late, is that it was on Google Maps.

Yes, I’ve been logged into Blogger off and on since then. No indication there, nor has there been any further e-mail. But yesterday I saw this little red banner on Google maps, while I was searching in vain for used DVD stores in my area. It certainly appears that they don’t get the idea of associating notices about services with those services, but instead just randomly pick some other service offering to inform me of a problem.

This is the sort of thing I’ve learned to expect from Blogger/Google.

For those Internet services that are trying to compete with Google’s offerings, I’d say that this is one part of their service philosophy you’d be wise not to emulate.

About Cujo359
An engineer, computer programmer, and former defense worker who also does amateur theatre. Contact: my nom de ordinateur at earthlink.net

2 Responses to And Furthermore …

  1. One Fly says:

    I don’t know what they’ve done to me – – – yet.

    • Cujo359 says:

      The problem is that it seems to be getting worse. Back when I was on the road a lot, it wasn’t any trouble at all to get logged into Blogger. That was as recently as last year. Now, it’s nearly impossible if you don’t have a cell phone.

      I can’t decide if they’re morons, or they just don’t give a crap. Probably the latter, since I know that Google used to employ some really bright people.

