No Longer .bak

While its title hasn’t changed yet, this is the new home of Slobber And Spittle. The old blog, which is at Blogspot, also known as Google, will continue to be there as an archive. Maybe at some point in the future I’ll return there, but for now, this is the new place.

Why the change? It all started last weekend, when I was on a short vacation in another part of the country. I tried logging into the Blogger account at Blogspot/Google, I was presented with this message:

The message you get from Google when you're not where you're supposed to be.

The message you get from Google when you’re not where you’re supposed to be.

Here I am, faced with the choice of giving them my phone number when they don’t need it, or changing a password and still being unable to log in, I opted for neither. I didn’t have anything I particularly needed to blog about at that moment. Knowing how my mind works, or doesn’t, I wasn’t willing to risk changing the password, only to be unable to remember it later, another problem that Google only seems to be able to clear up if you give them a phone number these days. I was mostly logging in to check on comments and to see what else might be wrong. As it happened, the only thing wrong was nothing I could do anything about.

Of course, there is absolutely no reason they needed my phone number. Google could have confirmed via the e-mail it sent me warning me that I was trying to break into my own account that it was actually I, not some imposter. They could use some special security or passphrase. They chose to leave no option there, either. The help center has no category that strikes me as likely to include help for “I’ve been locked out of my account since I’m out of town and don’t own a cell phone”, so there was no help there, either.

Typical Blogspot in the era of Google, in other words.

What they were telling me, whether they realize it or not, is that they want a cell phone number from me more than they want my continued use of their service. So I’ve stopped.

There are lots of things to recommend Blogspot, of course. And let’s face it, it’s free, so I can’t complain too much. But, in the absence of any real help or possibility of feedback that humans will pay attention to, not using the service anymore seems like the logical choice.

At least for now, this is home. We’ll see how long that lasts…

About Cujo359
An engineer, computer programmer, and former defense worker who also does amateur theatre. Contact: my nom de ordinateur at earthlink.net

Comments are closed.

